Just what I need

Standard

Life has been a little crazy. The month of November was focus on getting ready for a wedding. The kind of focus where Mom is doing the “unnormal” things and the girls did the cooking and cleaning. Then the last 2 weeks of November were filled with company (lots of it, like 25 people sleeping here in one night) and then being company as we went up North to be with my family for Thanksgiving.
So I was looking forward to coming home and getting back into a routine. Knowing that Christmas is coming yet and who knows what will happen but at least we can have school and I can be in the kitchen again.
This is how my week actually went.. Monday Cory complained of being sore and had a headache. A little more than he normally would. But we had had a not so normal 2 weeks of late nights and playing with cousins so I figured he was just sore from that. Tuesday morning, he called me from his bed asking for help to get up. He could walk once I got him up but it was like he couldn’t bend in the middle or make his legs slide across the bed. And that is pretty much how he still was last night (he is still sleeping this morning, which makes me hopeful he is feeling better since he didn’t sleep so well this week!). It wrenches my heart to watch my active, nothing slows him down little boy groaning when he goes to lie down or working painfully to sit up. He works hard to lift his cup to get a drink.
I haven’t gotten much done this week except administer “meds” (my tinctures and such), rub him with oils, and read to him or hold him.
I have never had to deal with anything like this before. I feel so lost and ineffective. Add to that all the emotional stresses in my life right now, most of which I know are not going to go away anytime soon and I was feeling like crying most of the week! I don’t know how many times I just wanted to crawl away to my bed and cry my heart out.
One night in family devotions we read a portion of I Peter chapter one. I was reading some of the other verses to myself when I felt God giving me just what I needed! Here is what I read,
Wherein ye greatly rejoice, though now for a season, if need be, ye are in heaviness through manifold temptations”
Wow, I certainly could identify with being in heaviness (another translation says with “various trials” not temptations)! Here it’s saying it’s just for a season and there is rejoicing! What am I rejoicing in through these trials I wondered. So I read the previous verses and here is what they say,
Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, which according to his abundant mercy hath begotten us again unto a lively hope by the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, to an inheritance incorruptible, and undefiled, and that fadeth not away, reserved in heaven for you, who are kept by the power of God through faith unto salvation ready to be revealed in the last time.
There is so much to rejoice in in these verses! What really impressed me as I read them was that I can always rejoice in the salvation that is mine through Jesus Christ. No matter how much my heart is crying, no matter how crazy my life is, no matter how much this season looks like it will never end, I always have something to rejoice in. That mercy, that hope, that power is mine! I can and I will, Rejoice! All praise and honor and glory to Jesus for giving me just what I need!

(I did take him to the chiropracter and then to a Dr.. The Dr. sent me to the ER, which I could do a little rant about, and they did a bunch of tests. So far everything has come back negative, still waiting to hear on some of them. Based on my own research and what the ER Dr. communicated to me, I think it is either Lyme or a virus. I’m praying he is soon healed with no lasting effects! And many thanks to all those who have been praying with me! I am blessed to be in the Family of God!!)

Leave a comment